2024 AusCycling National Cyclo-cross Series





Introduction

The 2024 AusCycling CX National Series ('Series') is a competition which includes National level Cyclo-cross events which occur throughout the year. The Series is designed to encourage participation and recognise individual rider achievement.

The 2024 Series will consist of six (6) rounds plus the National Championships.

Series Rounds

Round 1-2 | 25-26 May | Adelaide, South Australia Round 3-4 | 15-16 June | Brisbane, Queensland Round 5-6 | 20-21 July | Sydney, NSW National Championships | 17 August | Ballarat, VIC

Series Qualification

All AusCycling Race All-Discipline or Race Off-Road Members are eligible for the Series standings. International riders with a UCI license from a National Federation are also eligible. There will be no minimum number of events attended in order to qualify to appear in the Series Standings.



Series Equipment Requirements

Where not expressly mentioned below, all equipment requirements will revert to AusCycling Regulations and then to the UCI Equipment Regulations where applicable.

Bike Requirements (Masters, Expert, U13, U15 & U17)

- Two wheels of the same diameter
- Two brakes
- No additional supports or extensions mounted to the handlebar, stem, fork or frame
- 42mm maximum tyre width
 - Maximum width by a printed or molded size on the tyre's sidewall where there is no printed or molded size or the tyre has been modified this will revert to an actual 42mm width measured from outside to outside
- Drop handlebars mandatory, no maximum width
- Human-powered bicycles only, no power assist
- No metal studs in tyres
- Double triangle frame shape
- Rear wheel must be free to roll forward independently of the drivetrain (no fixed gear bikes)
- Must have a saddle attached securely to the bicycle

Bike Requirements (Elite, U23 and J19)

- 2 wheels of the same diameter between 550 and 700 mm
- Two brakes
- No additional supports or extensions mounted to the handlebar, stem, fork or frame
- Shifting mechanisms/brake levers must not be customised to create an additional support for hand, wrist or forearm
- 33mm maximum tyre width
- Maximum width measured outside to outside of tyre horizontally, tyre must be inflated and in a condition ready to race when measured
- Drop (traditional) handlebars only
- Handlebar maximum width 50cm from widest point to widest point
- Human-powered bicycles only, no power assist
- Power must be transferred from the crankset to the rear wheel by a chain only
- No metal studs in tyres
- Double triangle frame shape
- Rear wheel must be free to roll forward independently of the drivetrain (no fixed gear bikes)
- Must have a saddle attached securely to the bicycle



Series Points

Series scoring will be determined by a rider's results from all rounds.

The points for the Series will be awarded based on the finishing place on each round in the Series in accordance with the following table:

Position	Points	Position	Points	Position	Points
1	80	11	20	21	10
2	65	12	19	22	9
2	00	12	19		9
3	55	13	18	23	8
4	48	14	17	24	7
				25 and above	
5	43	15	16	25 and above for all finishers	1
6	38	16	15		
7	33	17	14		
8	29	18	13		
9	25	19	12		
10	22	20	11		



Riding Up

Riding up is not permitted in these series events.

Combined Categories

In the scenario where categories have been combined at an event (for whatever reason), points will be awarded separately based on relative rankings in the combined race within a given Race Category.

Tie-Break

Should any riders finish on the same number of points at the end of the series, the tie will be broken by way of countback as follows:

- The rider with a higher number of 1st places achieved; then
- The rider with a higher number of 2nd places achieved; then
- The rider with a higher number of 3rd places achieved; then
- The rider with a higher number of races started.

Should the tie remain after these above countbacks, the riders will receive the same placing in the Series.



Race and Series Categories

Race and Series categories are based on 2025 ages to align with the UCI approach to the year of competition.

2024 CX National Series Categories					
Category	Code	Years			
Elite (19 years and over)	ME; WE	2006 and older			
Masters 1 (30-34 years)	M1, W1	1991 to 1995			
Masters 2 (35-39 years)	M2, W2	1986 to 1990			
Masters 3 (40-44 years)	M3, W3	1981 to 1985			
Masters 4 (45-49 years)	M4, W4	1976 to 1980			
Masters 5 (50-54 years)	M5, W5	1971 to 1975			
Masters 6 (55-59 years)	M6, W6	1966 to 1970			
Masters 7 (60-64 years)	M7, W7	1961 to 1965			
Masters 8 (65-69 years)	M8, W8	1956 to 1960			
Masters 9 (70-74 years)	M9, W9	1951 to 1955			
Junior (18 years and under)	MJ, WJ	2007, 2008			
U17 (16 years and under)	M17, W17	2009, 2010			
U15 (14 years and under)	M15, W15	2011, 2012			
U13 (11 & 12 years)	M13, W13	2013, 2014			

- Participants may qualify for both an Elite ranking and Age-Group ranking for the Series based on the category they compete in each round.
- Masters riders may elect to race in the Elite category for any event however they will only earn Series points in the Elite category from those events where the individual raced in the Elite category. Points accumulated from Masters categories do not count towards Elite Series points.

 \wedge

- Categories may be combined on course for races but will be called up and started as separate waves, in accordance with the AusCycling CX Technical Regulations, and will be awarded within the Race Category separately (Masters 1-3 may be a combined race, but presentations will recognise the top three Masters 1 riders, then the top three Masters 2 riders, then the top three Masters 3 riders).
- Organisers may conduct other races such as kids or fun events which may not be part of the Series as part of the event.



Starting Order

Starting order for Round 1 in all National Series Race Categories will be based on:

- Current National Cyclo-cross Champion then
- 2023 National Cyclo-cross Series Standings then
- Order of entry or by the event host's discretion

Subsequent round call-ups will be done based on:

- 2024 National Cyclo-cross Series Standings then
- Order of entry or by the event host's discretion

Call-up order will not be updated between Rounds of the Series which occur on consecutive days.

Riders must be present at the Start no less than 10 minutes before their advertised start time. Riders who are not present at the time they are called to their start position will forfeit their call-up position and start from the back of the group.

Series Awards

Top three (3) riders in each category will be awarded a prize at the end of the Series overall.

Award Presentations

Awards will be presented at the 2024 AusCycling Cyclo-cross National Championships. Riders will be required to be onsite or have someone pickup their award (awards will not be posted).

Event Awards

Specific event awards will be set, provided and awarded by the event host.



OTHER INFORMATION

All events will be conducted in accordance with the AusCycling Technical Regulations:

- o <u>General</u>
- o <u>Cyclo-cross</u>

This Series is open to Race All-Discipline and Race Off-Road AusCycling membership holders who meet Event Category eligibility. Non-series categories can be entered by holders of an Event License as long as that license is active for the duration of the event.